Prophecy Fulfilled – Jesus’s Death – Part Three

Welcome back, beautiful family!

Today, I believe we’ll be continuing the prophecies regarding Jesus’s death which we’ve covered over the past two posts as well.

In case you’re joining right now, we’ve been covering the prophecies that were fulfilled with the birth, life, death, and resurrection of Jesus. All of those prophecies were written 400-1500 years prior to His birth. I hope you’re seeing the supernatural nature of the Bible. It is not like any other book because it is God’s Word. I hope this is helping to stir deep inside your soul for a desire for more about God.

  1. Jesus Rejected by Own People
    • Prophecy:
      • He was despised and rejected by men, a man of suffering who knew what sickness was. He was like someone people turned away from; we despised Him, and we didn’t value Him. – Isaiah 53:3
      • He was taken away because of oppression and judgment; and who considered His fate? For He was cut off from the land of the living; He was struck because of my people’s rebellion. They made him a rich man at His death, although He had done no violence and had not spoken deceitfully. Yet the LORD was pleased to crush Him severely, When You make Him a restitution offering. He will see His seed, He will prolong His days, and by His hand, the LORD’s pleasure will be accomplished. He will see it out of His anguish, and He will be satisfied with His knowledge. My righteous Servant will justify many, and He will carry their iniquities. Therefore I will give Him the many as portion, and He will receive the mighty as spoil, and was counted among the rebels; yet He bore the sin of many and interceded for the rebels. – Isaiah 53:8-12
      • The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone. Psalms 118:22
    • Fulfilled:
      • He came to His own, and His own people did not receive Him. – John 1:11
      • It was the preparation day for the Passover and it was about six in the morning. Then he told the Jews “Here is your king!” But they shouted “Take Him away! Take Him away! Crucify Him!” Pilate said to them, “Should I crucify your king?” “We have no king but Caesar!” the chief priests answered. – John 19:14-15
      • Then they cried out together “Take this man away! Release Barnabas to us!” – Luke 23:18
      • This Jesus is the stone rejected by builders, which has become the cornerstone. – Acts 4:11
      • For it is contained in scripture: Look! I lay a stone in Zion, a chosen and honored cornerstone and the one who believes in Him will never be put to shame! So honor will come to you who believe, but for the unbelieving, The stone that the builders rejected – this One has become the cornerstone, and A stone to stumble, a rock to trip over. They stumble because they disobey the message; they were destined for that. – 1 Peter 2:6-8
  2. Jesus Hated Without Cause
    • Prophecy: Those who hate me without cause are more numerous than the hairs of my head; my deceitful enemies, who would destroy me, are powerful. Though I did not steal, I must repay. – Psalms 68:4
    • Fulfilled: But this happened so that the statement written in the scripture might be fulfilled: They hated Me for no reason. – John 15:25
  3. Jesus’s Friends Were Aloof
    • Prophecy: My loved ones and friends stand back from my affliction, and my relatives stand at a distance – Psalm 38:11
    • Fulfilled:
      • They seized Him, lead Him away, and brought Him into the high priest’s house. Meanwhile, Peter was following at a distance. – Luke 22:18
      • But all who knew Him, including the women who followed Him from Galilee, stood at a distance watching these things. – Luke 23:49
  4. People Shake Their Heads
    • Prophecy:
      • Everyone who sees me mocks me; they shake their heads – Psalm 22:7
      • I have become an object of ridicule to my accusers; when they see me, they shake their head in scorn – Psalm 109:25
    • Fulfilled: Those who passed Him yelled insults at Him, shaking their heads – Matthew 27:39
  5. Jesus Stared At
    • Prophecy: I can count all my bones, people look and stare at me – Psalms 22:17
    • Fulfilled: The people stood watching – Luke 23:35a
  6. Jesus’s Clothes Divided and Gambled Away
    • Prophecy: They divide my garments amongst themselves, and they cast lots for my clothing – Psalms 22:18
    • Fulfilled: When the soldiers crucified Jesus, they took His clothes and divided them in 4 parts, one for each soldier. They also took the tunic, which was seamless, woven in one piece from the top,. So they said to one another, “Let’s not tear it, but cast lots for it, to see who gets it.” They did this to fulfill the scripture: They divided My clothes amongst themselves, they cast lots for My clothing. And this is what the soldiers did. – John 19:23-24
  7. Jesus Was Thirsty
    • Prophecy: My strength is dried up like baked clay; my tongue sticks to the roof of my mouth. You put me into the dust of death. – Psalms 22:15
    • Fulfilled: After this, when Jesus knew everything was now accomplished that the Scripture might be fulfilled, He said, “I”m thirsty!” John 19:28
  8. Jesus Given Vinegar
    • Prophecy: Instead they gave me gall for my food and for my thirst, they gave me vinegar to drink – Psalms 69:21
    • Fulfilled: A jar full of sour wine was sitting there, so they fixed a sponge full of sour wine on hyssop and held it up to His mouth. – John 19:29

I hope this has been eye opening for you. In the next few posts, we’ll be wrapping up the prophecies that have already been fulfilled and start looking at all the ones yet to be fulfilled. For those yet to be, we can know with the fulfillment of all of these already that they will be fulfilled as well. So what does all this mean? You’ll have to stick around to find out. But I promise, it is worth it.

Until next time, beloved.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started